Contests, Conferences, Grants and Awards

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation – Science Playwriting and New Play Production Programs

The goal of this program is to encourage leading artists and playwrights to create new works about scientists and engineers that will break down the barrier between “the two cultures.” The Foundation’s major partners include The Ensemble Studio Theatre, The Manhattan Theatre Club and The Magic Theatre with a new pilot program underway at Playwrights Horizon. The Foundation has been a leading force in commissioning and producing new science and technology plays and has helped to stimulate numerous playwrights to tackle these subjects while also creating a more hospitable environment among the theater-going public for such fare, signaling an important cultural shift.

For submissions or more information on the EST/Sloan Project, please contact Graham Gillis or Carlos Armesto at The Ensemble Studio Theater, 549 West 52nd Street, New York, NY 10019. Email: . Phone: 212-247-4982 x20 .

For submissions or more information about the MTC/Sloan program, please contact Aaron Leichter at the Manhattan Theater Club, 212-399-3000 or

For submissions or further information about The Magic Theater, please contact Mark Routhier, or 415-401-8001 x19.

The 21st Annual Conference of the SLSA (Society for Literature, Science, and the Arts)
Call for Papers and Proposals

Nov. 1-4, 2007
Portland, Maine (USA)
Topic: CODE
Deadline for paper and panel submissions: March 15, 2007
Plenary Speakers: N. Katherine Hayles, UCLA; Brian Massumi, Université de Montréal
Conference website:

Science Drama Awards (Australia)

The Science Drama Awards has been operating since 1993.
The Science Drama Awards help to foster creativity and integrate the study of science with reading, writing, music, art and the performing arts.
The Science Drama Awards encourages entrants from all primary and secondary schools in Victoria.
Entry into the competition requires schools to develop a ten minute performance about a scientific concept or issue. Schools submit a script and video of their proposed performance. Six state finalists are then selected to perform in front of a live audience.

THE KCACTF National Science Playwriting Award (college)

Sponsored by physicist and novelist Alan Lightman, the KCACTF National Science Playwriting Award is offered every two years for the outstanding student-written full-length play written about science and scientists with the recognition that science is a part of culture. There will be a different required theme every two years. For 2007 and 2008, the play must deal in a significant way with Global Warming. The play should not be pedagogical but should stand on its own as an artistic work; nevertheless, the issues of Global Warming or the lives of scientists working on Global Warming must be addressed.
1st Place Cash Award of $3,000 and a fellowship to attend the Underground Railway Theater Company’s professional staged reading of the play in Cambridge, MA. Deadline November 1.
The play must be produced by a college or university or publicly presented in a “rehearsed” or “staged reading” format following a significant development process. The play must be entered, as an Associate or Participating entry, in the KCACTF. It must comply with the guidelines for scripts entered in the KCACTF Michael Kanin Playwriting Program.


Scientists, Technologists and Artists Generating Exploration Playwriting Award (professional)

The Professional Artists Lab and the California NanoSystems Institute at the University of California, Santa Barbara continue their collaboration with the second STAGE International Script Competition, open to plays about science and technology.
The winning script will receive $10,000 USD; a staged reading with a cast of professional actors and simultaneous participation in an awards event with distinguished professionals from the worlds of theatre, film, science and technology; and the opportunity to go through the Professional Artists Lab’s development process, which includes access to advice and guidance from professional theatre and film artists as well as experts in the fields of science, engineering and technology. Next deadline January 2008.